The Ultimate Evil

A Child Abuse Awareness Blog

The Medal of Honor

The design is complete! Well, sort of. The spirit is a go and the concept is here. I’m in the process of working with Strings to make this an actual medal to be awarded to volunteer defenders of children.

These are the two designs we are discussing (yes, they are dark but won’t be so much in the end):

The shield and sword are Viking design (I’ll get to that in a moment), the central bow is the Child’s Purple Heart I designed several years ago, and the tone is in consideration with the bronze metal that will be used for the physical award (thus the darkness because I don’t know how dark bronze is supposed to look).

I designed the wingless version first. After re-reading the spirit I composed for the award, I realized it was missing the idea of wings. Hence, the second version. However, I’m not sure how this will translate to the real medal, which is what Strings is currently playing around with in wax mold.

Every thing I design has meaning – from the shape to the color and the cultural history, itself. Being that I am proud of my noble Viking heritage, and in the spirit of awarding children, survivors, and defenders with a symbol awarded to combatants and victims of war, I chose such items in that respect. The wings can be viewed as the Christian guardian angel or the Valkyrie. It makes no difference to me, as long as the wings are seen as the softer side of what we do: the compassion, tenderness, understanding, and love of the child and the innocence we fight so hard to protect.

I have written this short descriptive for all those honored with this award:

In Norwegian:

Medlidenhet, Beskyttelse, Selvoppofrelse
Jeg er guardian angel til den uskyldige, hevn til de skyldige

English translation:

Compassion, Protection, Self-Sacrifice
I am guardian angel to the innocent, vengeance to the guilty.

I will have the three words around the medal when awarding to online entities, but it is agreed that on the medal will make it too busy.

As you can see, I’ve opted to only have the purple heart in color. The color-block bow is for children. This symbol on this medal is for the adult protectors and represents them as such.

If anyone has any ideas, suggestions, constructive criticism, or praise, please feel free to leave your comment. Indicate it is private if you wish not to share with the public.

Keep in mind that this design may not be final and is reflective of how it will look in bronze metal form. Any changes, however, will be minimal and will not adversely affect the copyright I have turned in to the Library of Congress. I wanted to let you guys know the progress and get any helpful input before any final decision is made, and I will be posting a follow-up when the piece is complete.

In addition to this award, which will be granted to people and organizations who have gone above and beyond to defend abused children – sexual and non-sexual, speak when they could not, and protect the laws abusers work so hard to break down, I have offered BACA the use of the Child’s Purple Heart to be made into a small pin and distributed to the children under their wing.

I will have a new post about this as soon as the agreed upon finalization comes to pass. It is my design, yes, but I am not a medalsmith and know nothing of how feesable any design might be or how the cost of production is affected by design. That is why I am working with Strings, who has been such an incredible help in all this – the design process as well as how we can get these to the defenders and the children. I’d like to thank him, too, for suggesting the Child’s Purple Heart be offered to BACA children. I was deeply touched for his idea and honored to do so.

(*** The Child’s Purple Heart and CPH Medal of Honor – in any form – are copyrighted possessions of me. This includes the meaning, the purpose, and every angle of the design. It may not be reproduced in any way, shape, or form, whole or partial, unless permission has been granted by me in written letter with my signature and postmark – no e-mail correspondence will be legally binding. If a person or organization wishes to use these emblems or any part, I am to be contacted directly. No third party is permitted to speak for me.***)

September 27, 2009 - Posted by | Child Advocates, Heroes

6 Comments »

  1. (copied over from original post)

    Beautiful!! Thanks for sharing this with everyone. I know you’ve been working hard on it and you’re awesome.

    Comment by sues | September 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. (copied over from original post)

    Thank you so much! Being that you’ve been my mentor almost since my beginning, I owe a good portion of any awesomeness to you! 🙂

    Comment by TUECAA | September 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. I for one am glad their is someone that is willing to speak out loud for the victims. You are doing a great job giving the victims hope and confidence. I am not part of BACA, so will people who do not belong to BACA will we have a chance to order a metal?

    Comment by Anonymous | January 12, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m working out the kinks in getting this out there, but I can say that only people actively fighting child abuse will receive one. This means they must be part of a recognized organization that’s only purpose is preventing child abuse/defending children against child abuse. I’m thinking of, also, creating something for companies that go above and beyond to ensure the safety of children or contribute to anti-child abuse efforts.

    Comment by TUECAA | March 7, 2010 | Reply

  5. I like ur new 1 better. I know who u were talking abt when u said something in another post abt another group stealing ur idea. If u don’t know, there site is dead. I thought ud like to know. Have u made them yet?

    Comment by tweety5.0 | January 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks! I like it better, too. I haven’t made them yet because of the money involved. The jewelry maker who was going to make it for me had more experience with bronze, though, and I’d prefer silver. I have recently discovered silver making, so I’m strongly considering creating them, myself. I have to buy a kiln first lol.

      Yes, I know. They’ve moved but barely hanging on by a thread. I don’t like to see any of us struggle for support in this cause, but their hearts weren’t in it as much as their wallets and need for personal attention. Nothing was being applied to actual child abuse prevention and stopping real threats. They became more of a hindrance and aligned themselves with an organization that was run by a pedophile who operated the organization under several aliases. I was about to contact the one who stole that group from me to warn her about “him”, but I remembered how she and her best friend treated me any time I warned them about threats that ended up being just what I said. I just don’t care to have that in my life anymore. If they were putting real children in danger, I would set aside my hurt and do it. Since they are pretty much nothing at this point, good or bad, I’ll let them discover the truth about that organization on their own. They like learning the hard way, anyway … so be it.

      Thanks for keeping an eye out for me, tweety. It means a lot. I’m done with them, though, and just want history to remain in the past. (((HUGS)))

      Comment by TUECAA | January 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

